PCOS and Acne Treatment 2013 Update

Hello ladies! I presume if you are reading this, then you have been diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. I will not go into detail about the condition, but this is centered on acne treatment. I am not a health professional, so the information given is based upon some research, my experience, and experimentation. There are various symptoms that come with PCOS, but my dominant symptom is acne.

Most people hope to leave acne and its scars behind. I remember being eager to leave my teenage years behind for so many reasons, but mostly because it meant my days of zits would be over. Now, in my early 20s, I am yet in a war with pesky pimples. I have tried many products and they worked a little, but I still have had bad breakouts. Until recently, I have finally created a facial regimen. I have been keeping up with the regimen since the early parts of this year. I had the Clean and Clear three step package, and it was not giving me the clear skin I wanted because I still had breakouts. I even started using baking soda for spot treatment, and it did dry out some of my pimples, but it was really messy because I would go to sleep with the dried baking soda on my face. I have not tried Proactive or Neutrogena, but I am not so sure if those products will work either. However, mostly it is because I am on a tight budget and I want to use something natural.

In addition, my dark spots and acne scars were bothering me, and I wanted to use something natural to help fade them while gently cleansing my face. I heard a lot of ladies in the natural hair community talking about black soap not only being good for your hair, but your skin, so I decided to give it a try. So, I have been washing my face with African Black soap. You can purchase as well as African Shea Butter at Beauty supply stores, online, or natural food stores. My regimen may help you if you have dry skin because that is what I have, but it can work if you have oily skin too. It is best to do what works for you.The following regimen is what I used to do twice a day:

- Cleanser: Wash and rinse face with Black soap (Black soap is soft, so you can break off a small piece and it can last you two days or more depending on how much you want to use and how big the piece is.)

-Pat your face, but leave a little dampness

- Astringent: Lemon Juice (Dab a bit on a cotton ball, and apply to face) I rinse my face with cool water after applying the lemon juice because it sort of burns a bit, but it will help get rid of any leftover residue on your face.

-Spot Treatment: Apply Acne Free/Severe: Terminator 10 on pimples (Can be purchased at Wal-Mart)

-Moisturizer: Olive Oil (night regimen) and African Shea Butter (day regimen)

-Exfoliate once a week with your choice or favorite exfoliant

*I only use the lemon juice every now and then

*New tip* I have discovered my pimples dry up better when I do not apply olive oil to my face at night. However, my skin is not as soft or glowing in the morning when I do this.

 

2013 Acne Treatment Update

Currently, I no longer use the regimen listed above. I have found a product to help me battle against my acne problems. I do want to remind you that I am not a licensed professional, but these are based on my personal experiences. All individuals are not the same so what works for me may not work for you. Nonetheless, I am now using Acne Free three step acne treatment for sensitive skin. The pros of this product is that it is good for sensitive skin and all skin types. It is a gentle product and I have no irritation. That is one reason, why I stopped using the african black soap, because it seemed to make my skin very dry, but my skin type is dry anyways. The product is fairly priced. I pay about $17.94 (round off to $18.00). It has helped to clear my skin, but my favorite is the moisturizer because of its dual-ability. It contains a moisturizer and it includes my favorite spot treatment that I previously recommended (Acne Free Terminator 10). However, I still use my Terminator 10 with the moisturizer. My skin glows after my regimen and it feels light on my face, so there is no ooey or gooey feelings and your face is not shiny. If you are considering trying a new product I say give Acne Free Sensitive Skin a chance.

Benefits of African Black Soapblack-soap-bars

Clearing Acne and Scars: African black soap contains natural anti-fungal and anti-bacterial properties that is deemed essential for clearing the face and body of acne causing bacteria and riding the body of physical scars
Erasing Skin Discoloration: With regular use, vitamin and antioxidant rich Anago soap can uniform the skin tone and erase discoloration
Skin Exfoliation: The makeup of black soap provides a gentle and soothing exfoliation which is suitable for the skin of the body and face
Reversing Signs of Aging: The natural coconut oil, cocoa butter, plantain skins and all the other natural ingredients used in its making, makes black soap the perfect aid for reducing and delaying the typical signs of aging such as crows feet, frown lines and other facial and neck wrinkles.
Baby Soap/Sensitive Skin: Black soap is gentle enough for the youngest and most sensitive skin due to the properties it contains. These mean that it is perfect at cleansing without irritation
Hair Shampoo: Glycerin rich African black soap is the perfect ingredient to absorb moisture from the hair, while the anti-fungal agents keep dry scalp and dandruff at bay. This makes it great to use as a Shampoo.

*Information from soapprocess.com and picture from naturalessence808.wordpress.com*

Benefits of Lemon Juice

  • Exfoliator
  • Blackhead Remover
  • Skin Brightener

Benefits of Olive Oil

  • Provides skin with antioxidants Vitamin A&E
  • Good night time moisturizer
  • Leaves skin so soft in the morning

Benefits of African Shea Butter

•Great for daily moisturizing of the face and body (face and body)
•Relieving dry skin
•Moisturizing a dry scalp
•Soothing minor rashes, including diaper rash
•Minimize skin peeling after sunburn
•Relieving itching due to dryness
•Soothing sunburn
•Can be used prior to shaving to minimize razor burn
•Treat small skin wounds
• Softens and heals cracking skin like callouses on feet, especially heels
•Healing minor burns
•Treating mild to moderate eczema
•Sunscreen
•Treats dark spots, skin discolorations, wrinkles, blemishes, and stretch marks
•Prevent or minimize blemishes and scarring
•Stop scalp irritation due to dryness or chemical processing such as dying or relaxers
•Preventing bumps after shaving
•Treating acne (especially when used with African Black Soap)
•Easily absorbed (non-comedogenic).  (Absorbs without blocking pores)

•Maintains and restores skin’s natural elasticity
•Brings shine luster to hair

All of these products are at least $5 or under except for the Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO) and can last you for months. I bought two bars of black soap about 5 or more months ago and I have used half of my first bar. My skin has really cleared up since I bought the Acne Free spot treatment cream. I have no major white or black heads just a few nodules here and there, which is amazing for me. I have seen improvement with my dark spots as well. You must be patient and consistent if you decide to use these products for evening out your skin tone, but I have noticed some changes. You can buy other creams that help with dark spots if you like. I used Ambi and it did lighten a dark spot I had, so if you know of a good dark spot cream that works fast let me know. As we know, nutrition, exercise, sweet sleep, and clean sheets play a key in our success as well.

I recently have been taking a Skin, Hair, and Nails supplement from Vitamin Shoppe. It is a whopper pill too. It contains a lot of things in it from Pantothenic Acid to Horsetail. I chose this one because it has Pantothenic Acid in it, and I read that is helps with hormonal acne, but I was scared to take a large dose due to the side effects, so in this multivitamin it only has 30 mg in it. Plus the serving size is 3 pills a day, so each pill has 10 mg of PA in it. I did notice a difference in my skin when I took this pill. My face started clearing a bit and it seemed to have a glow too.

We have to eat right, which I have a hard time with because I like food, especially my sweets, but we have to make changes here and there. Personally, I started drinking more water and drinking only one sugary beverage a day (100% juice for breakfast). We know the deal. More fruits, veggies, whole grains, nuts, lean meats, and a speck of sugar. It is hard , but I am working at it. I wish everyday I was one of those blessed people with a smoking high metabolism that burnt my food as soon as it dropped in my belly, but I am not. My food drops, and it stays until I finally keep working to get rid of it. I have a lot of work to do, but we must keep moving. Although we have PCOS, it does not have us. We can get around it. We just have to stay positive, persistent, and be consistent.

2 thoughts on “PCOS and Acne Treatment 2013 Update

  1. May I simply say what a relief to find someone who truly knows what they’re talking about online. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people ought to look at this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised you’re not more popular since you definitely have the gift.

What's on your mind?

