It Matters Not Who’s President, But As Long As He Is Resident In You

I was praying and a lyric from one of my favorite artists popped into my mind. I love me some Rance Allen and the Rance Allen group, but the lyric is from one of his songs on his latest album, and the song features Vanessa Bell Armstrong (another favorite artist). Nonetheless, the song is called It’s Your Time. I believe God is speaking to me through this song, but the lyric I heard Vanessa Bell sing in prayer was, “It matters not who’s President, but as long as He is resident in you.” I remember when I first heard that lyric. I was blown by its truth and relevance in the days we are living in. It was a good reminder because I remember a long time ago another minister had said the similar thing. He said, “It doesn’t matter who is in the seat, but who is on the throne.” Both quotes are so true.

We are vastly approaching the time to vote for the candidates we think will best represent what we stand for or believe in, and a serious matter it is for millions of people. Personally, at this point I am tired of the politics and gibberish. Everybody is pointing their fingers at everyone and blaming this one for that and so on. It can be discouraging and disheartening to someone who is solely depending on the government, themselves, family members, friends, job, money, corporations or any other unstable foundation. All of these foundations and many more will not support us because they were not meant for us to stand or depend on. Some of the foundations I listed have crumbled or slipped from many of us already. Why? Because there is only one strong and secure foundation and that is Jesus. He is our strong foundation, our salvation, our solid rock. All other ground is sinking sand. In my recent life events, I have lost friendships and basically had to leave everything I thought was my life or strong foundation behind, and I’m still getting rid of stuff (God working on me). It hurts sometimes at first, but eventually you begin to realize that you are standing and depending on a sure thing, and on someone who won’t nor cannot fail you. It is amazing! I just thank God.

This principle applies to everything too. At some point I was so obsessed with getting in with the “in crowd” or people of popularity and status, but now, I know that does not matter. If I am not connected to God all my connections mean nothing. I understand networking is an affective and important plan for career development or for anything that we are striving to achieve, but what matters first is that I am in relationship with God because he has all the connections. He is in control, not man! So, if you are waiting for a politician or anybody else to save the day I’ve come to tell you there’s only one hero and his name is Jesus!

1 John 4:4
Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.

Luke 6:47
Whosoever cometh to me, and heareth my sayings, and doeth them, I will shew you to whom he is like:

Luke 6:48
He is like a man which built an house, and digged deep, and laid the foundation on a rock: and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house, and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock.

Luke 6:49
But he that heareth, and doeth not, is like a man that without a foundation built an house upon the earth; against which the stream did beat vehemently, and immediately it fell; and the ruin of that house was great.

One thought on “It Matters Not Who’s President, But As Long As He Is Resident In You

What's on your mind?

